Two of Tacoma’s Favorites Take the Habitat Challenge!

Tacoma/Pierce County Habitat for Humanity is fortunate to have two well-known local celebrities participating in the Habitat Challenge this September. 

There’s truly no missing these two iconic Tacoma figures. They both stand over 6-1/2 feet tall, have distinguishing hair-dos, and always dress in sports uniforms.But that’s not all they have in common! Both could be classified as the strong, silent type. One is mild-mannered and almost shy; the other literally does not speak at all.

Most importantly, both have huge, generous hearts and a passion for their community. It is our honor to introduce our two newest Habitat Challenge participants — Sonics Guy and Rhubarb!

We were lucky enough to sit down with Sonics Guy and Rhubarb and ask them a few questions before they got back to the important work of representing local sports teams. Here’s the exclusive interview:

You both attend a lot of local events. Have the two of you met before?

Sonics Guy (SG): I attend about 500 events a year. Yes, most definitely. I see Rhubarb at every Rainiers game.

Rhubarb (R): You know, I love getting out in the community! Shaking hands, kissing babies, and it seems like everywhere I go I see the legendary Sonics Guy.

Sonics Guy, we know you are a Tacoma native. How about you, Rhubarb? Are you from Tacoma originally? If not, can you tell us a little bit about where you grew up?

R: There seems to be quite a bit of intrigue into my origin story, but it’s really quite simple. I spent my formative years frolicking in the foothills of Mt. Rainier. Dad was strict, but mom was nurturing as can be. I’d like to think it made me into the well-rounded reindeer I am today.

In your opinion, what’s the best thing about Tacoma? What’s the worst?

SG: The best thing about Tacoma is its people and its spirit. The worst is when we lose sports teams like the Rockets and the Sabercats. You may not know this about me, but I don’t like it when local sports teams leave.

R: I’d have to agree with the big fella in green and yellow. You have to love the people in this town. After all, We R Tacoma, am I right? As for the worst, I’m racking my brain on this one, but it’s got to be the potholes. Way too many potholes for a city of this caliber.

Our event is about raising awareness for the need of affordable housing in our community. Do either of you have thoughts on that? 

SG: The need for affordable housing is a serious issue facing the City of Tacoma going forward. I’m glad there are organizations like Habitat for Humanity that will help fill the gap.

R: Everyone deserves a roof over their head and some food in their stomach. Habitat for Humanity has my support, and I mean that from my antlers to my toes.

Besides affordable housing, what are some causes you like to support?

R: Reindeers rights! But I digress. Children’s health, a sustainable environment, and successful public schools are just a few of the many causes I hold “near and deer” to my heart.

SG: Making Tacoma a better place to live, work, and play. And of course us getting our Sonics back!

What’s your favorite sport?

R: Do you really have to ask?

SG: …

Favorite food?

SG: Venison (just kidding, Rhubarb). I love lots of food. Chicken, steak, and potatoes are some of my favorites. I love ballpark food too.

R: Without a doubt, it’s The Crackerjack from The Red Hot. So sweet, so salty, so delicious.

Are you at all nervous to be rappelling 26 stories down the roof of the Hotel Murano?

SG: Yes, I would definitely say I’m a little nervous, but it’s always good to get out of your comfort zone, especially for a good cause.

R: Nah. It’s going to be awesome.

Have you done anything similar to this before?

R: I do stuff like this all the time. From jumping out of a plane and landing in the outfield at Cheney Stadium to parasailing at alarming speeds, I’m a reindeer on the go.

SG: No, I can’t say that I have. I went down the Hotel Murano before, but I was in the elevator. I’ve never done it from the outside.

One fun thing about our event is the “challenges” that are taking place between different groups and individuals. We’ve set up a friendly competition between the two of you to see who has the most fan support. Are you game?

SG: Sure. I’ll post about it on my social media to let the public know. Most importantly, I’ll mention to others the opportunity to rappel to try and get more people involved.

R: As long as the emphasis is on “friendly” then I’m all in.

Since we’ve now made you competitors, is there anything you’d like to say to your challenger?

SG: May the best human win. 😉

R: See you at the bottom, brother.

Thank you for taking the time to answer our questions, Sonics Guy and Rhubarb! We are so grateful for your support and participation in the Habitat Challenge. We are looking forward to seeing you rappel in September!


Follow the links below to show your support for these two competitors as they take each other on in the Habitat Challenge!

Click here to support Sonics Guy

Click here to support Rhubarb

Leave a Reply

